The Long Way Home by Mariah Stewart

The Long Way Home: The Chesapeake DiariesThe Long Way Home by Mariah Stewart

  • ISBN-13: 9780345538413
  • Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 1/29/2013
  • Source: Netgalley

Synopsis:

New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart presents a captivating contemporary romance novel in the tradition of Robyn Carr, Susan Mallery, and Barbara Freethy.

As the only child of a wealthy investment manager, Ellie Chapman has never known anything besides a life of perfect privilege. But her years of good fortune come to an abrupt end when her father is exposed for swindling billions of dollars from innocent investors in a massive Ponzi scheme. And just like that, Ellie loses everything: money, job, home—even her fiancé, who’s jailed as her father’s partner in crime. With no job prospects on the horizon, no cash, and her family name in tatters, Ellie has only one place to go.
 
Sleepy St. Dennis, Maryland, is hardly where Ellie intends to stay, however. Keeping her identity a secret, she plans to sell the house her late mother left her in the small town and use the proceeds to move on with her life. Unfortunately, her ticket to a new beginning is in dire need of a laundry list of pricey improvements, many of which she’ll have to do herself. And until the house on Bay View Road is fit to be sold, the sole place Ellie will be traveling is the hardware store. But as the many charms of St. Dennis—not to mention Cameron O’Connor, the handsome local contractor who has secrets of his own—begin to work their magic, what begins as a lesson in do-it-yourself renovations might just end up as Ellie’s very own rejuvenation.

My Thoughts:

The Long Way Home was one of those books that I was drawn to and could not place my finger on why for quite a while.  It took some sitting back and reflecting to collect my thoughts into something that I found to be somewhat valuable.  I find Mariah Stewart great at weaving multiple story lines together in a way that sucks me in and makes me wonder why I did not see how the different story lines were overlapping and creating new one altogether.  Her simple yet emotion filled writing rivals so many of my favorite romance writers.  

Ellie Chapman, has moved to a small town far from the big city she is used to, she was forced to flee after her father and the man she loved  are jailed after taking the money of many people in a scam.  Ellie, who is used to living a life that includes anything and everything she needs, is left with nothing but a name she is ashamed of and a home in St. Dennis, Maryland that her mother left her years ago.  Ellie has decided to keep her real name hidden and pretend that she is just an investor looking to flip the old house that needs so many repairs.  She has to stay in the home for 6 months by the will or she will lose it just like the rest of her life.  Luckily, there is a fund set up to take care of the home.  Ellie soon realizes that a local contractor, Cameron O’Conner, has he eye on the house and was really hoping to purchase it.  She can’t admit the truth of who she is but realize that there is more to Cameron and his reason for wanting to purchase the house.  All Ellie wants is to restart her life but St. Dennis and it’s people seem to have something else in mind altogether.  This little town and her new life surprise her time and time again.

I really enjoyed that there were numerous story lines going on in The Long Way Home there is Ellie’s story, Cameron’s story, the town’s story and how all of these meet together and there there is a huge surprise that I never saw coming towards the end of the story.  Every time I thought I had a good grasp on the story something would change up and I would end up being wrong.  This doesn’t happen very often with romance books so it was a welcome change.  

My Rating:

4 Penguin

 

A 4 penguin read

  • I love makeover stories. Homes, people, etc. I also love the idea of writing about a child of one of these major scandals. I’m always more curious about them and what they’re going through than the actual scandal. Adding a sample of this to my kindle.

  • Alexa

    Sounds interesting but for some reason lately multiple storylines are driving me nuts. I feel like lately I’ve been reading books with too many plot points that don’t seem to come together for me. I guess I should put this on the back burner for a little while.
    Thanks for the great review and I’m glad you enjoyed it!