Review and Giveaway: inStye by Greg Kiser

Synopsis:

inSyte is a techno-thriller that will appeal to readers of Michael Crichton and Stephen King 
It’s Tampa Bay and the year is 2020. Ex-Navy SEAL Mitch Double Downing discovers how to tap into the internet with his mind. His new inSyte provides transparent access to the sum of all human knowledge recorded since hieroglyphics. More than mere information – Mitch can see into men’s hearts and be all places at all times (easy in an ‘always on’ surveillance society with fourth generation tweets). Sort of like God.
If knowledge is power, Mitch just became the strongest man in the world. 
Mitch wants to market his discovery to cure blindness, solve poverty, and prove something to his mother. But inSyte has ideas of its own as the software exposes a politician’s “divine” plan that will unwittingly slaughter millions of people. Is killing the man the only way to prevent Armageddon? The politician’s daughter would probably disagree. And she happens to be the love of Mitch’s life. Losing Kate would be too damn much collateral damage.
At the center of the conflict is a wolf-like killer who will stop at nothing to murder the ex-Navy SEAL. And Mitch must come to grips with inSyte’s dark side – a dominating addiction that soon controls his thoughts and places him on a steep slide to self destruction. 

My Thoughts:

First, let me say that this is not a genre that I typically read.  This made it more difficult for me to read overall and a bit harder for me to review since I do not have a lot of context.  In the beginning, I had a bit of trouble following where this story was going and what was really going on.  Not that it was bad or anything like that just that I had some problems following the story line.  I think with some editing and inclusion of some of the things you find out later in the story it would have been a bit stronger for me personally.  I will say that the characters are well developed with strong character traits.  Along the same lines, the diversity of the characters is well done.  They are all individual people and have their own history.  This story felt believable and like it was really something that could happen.  That was the strongest point of the story, in my opinion.  I felt that this book would be an excellent fit for someone who really enjoyed the thriller as it is quick paced and grasps you and you do not want to put it down.  Part of the reason I say this is that normally if I am having trouble with a story, I give it 50-75 pages and then move on but in this case I didn’t want to move on I just wanted to know what was going to happen.  If you are a thriller fan or just a reader who is up for the challenge of a great story that is out of their normal reading styles, I would recommend this book.

My Rating:

3 Penguins

With a stronger more understandable beginning I think that that book would have rated higher for me.

 

About the Author:

Happily married to a wonderful and inspirational wife, Serena, with two beautiful children – Miller and Grace.
Spent 6 years in the Navy – graduated the Navy Nuclear Power Program and qualified at S1C back in 1980.
Graduated from Southern Polytechnic University in Atlanta with a BS in Electrical Engineering.
Then earned an MBA from the University of South Florida.
Currently a Director at a high tech fortune 50 multinational corporation.

 Where you can find & follow Greg Kiser:

Author Website
Author Blog
Twitter
Facebook Profile
AuthorDen

Buy the BOOK at:

Amazon.com – Paperback & Kindle
Amazon.co.uk – Kindle
B&N
Smashwords 

 

 

 

 

Giveaway:

I am pleased to announce that I have 1 e-copy to give away!  Please use Rafflecopter to enter.  

 

2 thoughts on “Review and Giveaway: inStye by Greg Kiser

  1. Thank you for sharing your review with us

  2. Pingback: LIVE! BOOK TOUR – Greg Kiser, with “inSyte” » NURTURE Virtual BOOK Tourz™ BLOG

Comments are closed.